Eat Beef…because the West wasn’t won on salad…

This slogan was one of the many bumper stickers my grandpa had plastered on the back of his classic junker cars. If he were alive today, I have to wonder what he would think of my participation in Veguary.  Since he was a poor Nebraska farmer who raised pigs and cattle, my guess is that he’d curse a lot and grab my nose with his boulder-like hands and shake my face vigorously. That was his signature Grandpa move.

Veguary has reached  its halfway point and I am starting to consider whether or not I want Veguary to evolve into full-time vegetarianism. Even though I am far away from the small-town farming community where I was raised, the cultural stigma of being a vegetarian within an economy that relies so heavily upon animal products still sits uneasily within in me.  By banishing meat from my diet, am I betraying my roots? And, furthermore, does that really matter?

I have a couple more weeks of Veguary to weigh these questions and decide for myself. In the end, I have to do what I feel is right for the environment and what is right for my health and well-being.

About Restless Cube Dweller

Most of my adult life has been defined by moving away from my rather dysfuntional working class roots (both figuratively and literally), finding homes in unconventional places, and learning to interact positively with others. I've lived in the middle of nowhere, in small cities, in large cities, and now in the Chicago suburbs. This blog represents my musings about growing up, moving on, finding love, and eating well in the suburbs and beyond.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Eat Beef…because the West wasn’t won on salad…

  1. hillsgirl says:

    I actually had that exact conversation with my extended family when I became a vegetarian. Why they were so concerned, I have no idea; we grow corn, wheat, and sunflowers. I’m actually supporting the family and its history.

    Anyway, I walked away thinking this: If I followed my “roots” to the letter, I’d be a cowboy hat-wearing, truck-driving, country music-listening, rural SoDak-dwelling, pissed-off, racist and homophobic republican.

    Vegetarianism is the least of my worries.

Leave a Reply

