Things to see and do while driving across Iowa on Highway 20

1. Count the number of anti-abortion billboards (about 20, I think).
2. View the windfarms

3. Try not to monster truck it over the numerous Buick LeSabres, which are usually going 35 in a 55.
4. Enjoy the Barn Quilt Blocks.

5. Stop at Grundy Center for Arby’s/Godfather’s/John Deere Gear.
6. Ponder over the “Deadbeat mothers burn in hell” sign with American flags near Waterloo. The sign really needs more explanation.
About Restless Cube Dweller

Most of my adult life has been defined finding homes in unconventional places, and learning to interact positively with others. I've lived in the middle of nowhere, in small cities, in large cities, in the suburbs, and now in Dubuque, Iowa. This blog represents my musings about growing up, moving on, finding love, and eating well in the suburbs and beyond.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Things to see and do while driving across Iowa on Highway 20

  1. nobody's starling says:

    I’m glad this blog is no longer a neglected child.

  2. kettmann says:

    I just jumpped on your blog yesterday from reading the THonline. My husband is orginally from Bellevue, IA. We lived one year in Dubuque until me made the oposite transition you did. We moved to Sioux City, IA. We make what seems monthly trecs acrosss the great state of Iowa to Dubuque to see family. We do miss it. I enjoy this particular post because it is so true. I would like to add one thing to your list that we look for every trip. It is the Deer Farm out side of Rockwell City. Try and find it sometime. 🙂

    • Restless Cube Dweller says:

      I do love driving through Rockwell City, but I’ve never noticed the Deer Farm. I’ll have to check that out next time!

Leave a Reply

