Autumn Equinox

I am dressed in a black sweater and a skirt covered in brown leaves today to celebrate the first day of autumn. I do not understand those who are still wearing summery clothes and are mourning the loss of summer. I do not loathe the cold (I may not be saying this in February, but hear me out). I embrace the fact that everything living is now in the process of dying, nothing is permanent. Dubuque is especially beautiful in autumn. The bluffs are ablaze with vibrant leaves, the festivals finish, and all that can be heard on a late weekend night are the melancholy hoots of trains passing through the city and across the river.

My poetry slam is coming up on October 18. I probably shouldn’t call it “mine” since others have been involved with the planning, but I feel very proud that I have helped with the event (I applied and will be receiving $1,500 in grant money from my company for prize money). I am excited and nervous about the event. My greatest fear is that only locals will register to perform. I really want to give Dubuque a taste of a real poetry slam. As far as I know, we only have 3 outsiders signed up. I want more!

About Restless Cube Dweller

Most of my adult life has been defined finding homes in unconventional places, and learning to interact positively with others. I've lived in the middle of nowhere, in small cities, in large cities, in the suburbs, and now in Dubuque, Iowa. This blog represents my musings about growing up, moving on, finding love, and eating well in the suburbs and beyond.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

