The Jesus Saves Bus Rolls Again

I’ve had a headache for about a month, so I decided to splurge on a professional massage this weekend. It was wonderful! I felt a little guilty about spending the money on it, but the results have been worth it. Within an hour, my headache was gone and it hasn’t come back.

Dubuque was hit with a snowstorm Friday night through Saturday, so the whole Captain Merry spa was completely dead except for me. The spa is in an old mansion in East Dubuque, which is across the Mississippi River in Illinois. The massage therapist kept telling me that I could relax as long as I wanted (they had a room full of leather recliners and a fireplace where people could hang out), but I felt a little strange being naked under a thin terrycloth robe in that empty dark mansion.

While I was driving last night, I ended up behind a school bus with the words “Jesus Saves” on the back. I don’t know if he does, but I’m pretty sure I’ll go to a masseuse every other weekend versus mass.

About Restless Cube Dweller

Most of my adult life has been defined finding homes in unconventional places, and learning to interact positively with others. I've lived in the middle of nowhere, in small cities, in large cities, in the suburbs, and now in Dubuque, Iowa. This blog represents my musings about growing up, moving on, finding love, and eating well in the suburbs and beyond.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Jesus Saves Bus Rolls Again

  1. nobody's starling says:

    Oh, there is nothing better than a good massage.

    Nothing.

    (And your spa sounds like a fantastic setting for a mystery novel–or at least a live Clue game.)

Leave a Reply

