Hey, 27!

I think I have now fully recovered from my birthday weekend

I’ll start from the beginning….Good morning, twenty seven! I like the way that sounds; young and still a bit green, yet just enough life under the old belt to have a speck of wisdom. The morning scene from my living room window was a little dreary, but peaceful at the same time. That is just how I like it. I also love that I can see Wisconsin from my apartment.

Now crossing the bridge to Wisconsin…


At noon, I drove to the Potosi Brewery in Wisconsin, where I had to pick up donated cases of beer for the DubuqueFest book reception. During the twenty mile drive through the patchy rain and curving limestone bluffs and trees, I realized that I was doing everything I hoped to be doing when I ventured into college nearly nine years ago. I might not be in New York City or San Francisco as I’d once hoped, but for the first time since I was a teenager, I can say that every aspect of my life is going pretty well.

The rest of afternoon was crazy with picking up the books, coolers, other beverages, and sorting out our cash at the bank. Good times.

The book reception for Music and Dance went smoothly. Reigning in artsy types can be like herding cats, so I was pleased with the turnout, the music from Feast of Mutton (self-proclaimed modern gypsy music), the wine from Miss Kitty, and the food from Cafe Manna Java.

Our security guard for the evening was the only downside of the evening. I felt neither secure nor guarded around that guy, but I know all about his latest sinus infection and his most recent disappointing sexual trysts.

In the photo above, I am introducing and thanking people. On the right is my co-project editor. As one can see from our outfits, we are completely and comically opposite in most ways, but we clicked well throughout the project. I handled a lot of the spreadsheet, budget, planning stuff and she handled much of the design, layout, and copy editing aspects.

The evening was topped off at The Lounge, which is so cool that it doesn’t have a website. The jukebox features songs like Walking after Midnight and Black Magic Woman. CE and I did the Swayze couples dance to Hungry Eyes. I was a mess since I can’t dance sober.

Anyway, I am glad to be 27 and I am glad to be here!

That is all!

About Restless Cube Dweller

Most of my adult life has been defined finding homes in unconventional places, and learning to interact positively with others. I've lived in the middle of nowhere, in small cities, in large cities, in the suburbs, and now in Dubuque, Iowa. This blog represents my musings about growing up, moving on, finding love, and eating well in the suburbs and beyond.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

