Sweet, sweet turbid nectar

When RB asked me to go on an impromptu camping trip last Thursday, I was apprehensive mostly because I have been camping a total of three times in my life.

First Attempt: 1989, my backyard, rural northwest Iowa, I made it about an hour until I got scared and ran back into the house.

Second Attempt: 1992, Little Sioux Park, Correctionville, Iowa, 2 nights at 4-H Camp. Torrential Rain + Old Canvas Tent = I don’t camp again until the year 2000.

Third Attempt: 2000, My high school friend’s farm pond, 1 night. 6 Busch Lights, 2 Zimas, 1 Puking Rally.

Fourth Attempt: 2009, July 17-19, Wyalusing State Park, 2 nights, 4 new friends, great success! More details to come…

About Restless Cube Dweller

Most of my adult life has been defined finding homes in unconventional places, and learning to interact positively with others. I've lived in the middle of nowhere, in small cities, in large cities, in the suburbs, and now in Dubuque, Iowa. This blog represents my musings about growing up, moving on, finding love, and eating well in the suburbs and beyond.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sweet, sweet turbid nectar

  1. Russ says:

    I am called "RB"? Sounds badass if you ask me.

    "Impromptu"? More like completely spontaneous!

    I can't believe you actually went considering your dire camping history. The lure of impending storm clouds must have tipped the scales.

Leave a Reply

