The owner of Asian Gourmet thinks I’m a massive slut

As many in my Dubuque circle of friends know, I have an unbreakable addiction to the Asian Gourmet restaurant in Dubuque. Even after the owner yelled at me on my birthday last year (Otherwise known as the famous NO TOFU Incident of 2008), I returned and I continue to be a pushy evangelist for the place.

Two weeks ago, I took a couple of male co-workers out to lunch with me. The owner brought this up when I had lunch alone today.

Owner: Where your friends today? Nobody here today!

Me: Yep, it’s pretty quiet.

Owner: You have boyfriend?

Me (surprised by changed topic): Nope.

Owner: You mean NONE of those boys you bring your boyfriend?

Me: Nope, just co-workers and friends.

Owner raises her eyebrow harshly, puts her hands to her hips, and turns her back to me.  She then strides over to her husband, who is dozing in a camping chair near the register; slaps him on the shoulder (hard); and disappears to her kitchen.

God, I love this place.

About Restless Cube Dweller

Most of my adult life has been defined finding homes in unconventional places, and learning to interact positively with others. I've lived in the middle of nowhere, in small cities, in large cities, in the suburbs, and now in Dubuque, Iowa. This blog represents my musings about growing up, moving on, finding love, and eating well in the suburbs and beyond.
This entry was posted in Food and Drink in Dubuque, Humorous Anecdotes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The owner of Asian Gourmet thinks I’m a massive slut

  1. Grace says:

    Nick and I witnessed a no tofu incident at Asian Gourmet a few days ago. The girl had ordered pad thai and did not specify she wanted tofu. When the pad thai came out with chicken the poor girl explained she was a vegetarian and needed tofu (I’m a total eavesdropper!). The owner then proceeded to come out and lecture the girl about how she should order her pad thai.

    • Restless Cube Dweller says:

      I love your eavesdropping! My incident was similar only she was completely out of tofu and the server didn’t know it. As a result, Micheal never received his food and the server probably received a thrashing in the alley after-hours.

  2. Tabethe says:

    I love this story and the restaurant as well. My mom had a similar run-in with the owner (pretty comical to see two little ladies argue) and now I have to go in to pick up items at either the store or restaurant for her!

Leave a Reply

