2009 Halloween Costume: H1N1

Okay, I’m not postitive I had the H1N1 virus over the weekend, but I do know that the sickness I caught egged, toilet-papered, and pooed all over my Halloween.

Then, for good measure, it lit my precious Halloween on fire while laughing a deep sadistic belly laugh.

Normally, I wouldn’t be so dramatic about having my Halloween plans thwarted, but this year I was to be Julia Child, one of my culinary heroes.  For weeks, I have been scouring the racks at all the thrift stores in town including the Mission, St. Vincent de Paul’s, and the Goodwill. I checked out “The French Chef” dvd’s from the library. Hell, I even bought a rolling pin!

All is not lost though. I now feel like I have a closer relationship with Julia. While feverishly curled up on my couch, I watched every episode of “The French Chef”. I drifted in and out of sleep while Julia’s voice warbled in the background, I laughed when she spilled her ingredients, and I identified with her every time she lost her train of thought mid-sentence. In short, I’ve grown to love her even more. 

I was also lucky to have my favorite soup conveniently frozen for me. Here’s the recipe, which is a slightly altered Weight Watchers recipe (Julia probably would’ve hated it since it’s part of one of those “dreadful diets”).

Butternut Squash Soup

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 small onion diced

1 small apple; cored and diced (leave the skin)

4 cups of vegetable broth (I like Kitchen Basics brand)

1 small butternut squash; peeled and cut into small pieces (12 ounces)

1/8 tsp. nutmeg

salt and pepper to taste

Heat olive oil in a deep saucepan or stockpot. Saute apples and onions together for about three minutes or until onions are glossy and transparent. Pour vegetable broth and squash into the pan. Bring to a boil and turn down the heat to a simmer. Allow to simmer for about 10-15 minutes or until squash is soft. Just before taking the soup off the heat, add nutmeg, salt and pepper to taste. Let the soup cool for a few minutes and puree in a food processor.

About Restless Cube Dweller

Most of my adult life has been defined finding homes in unconventional places, and learning to interact positively with others. I've lived in the middle of nowhere, in small cities, in large cities, in the suburbs, and now in Dubuque, Iowa. This blog represents my musings about growing up, moving on, finding love, and eating well in the suburbs and beyond.
This entry was posted in Humorous Anecdotes, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

