Sweet, sweet thrifting

When I was in high school there were two places I loved to hang out; my friend’s old Grand Am (with a sunroof woot!) cruising the Sioux City loop and perusing racks at the local Goodwill. 

Now over a decade later I rarely “cruise”, but I still thrift shop regularly. I love not knowing exactly what I’ll find. 

IMG_0398

From the basement of the Mission Thrift Shop on Main Street, my big wooden spoon is friggin’ whimsical. I love it. Most of the time I use it as decoration, but it’s also fabulous for mock eating (after too many cocktails).

Another one my great finds at the Mission is what I like to call my “Jehovah’s Witness Repellent”. 

It’s quite beautiful.

IMG_0400

Works like a charm!

I also purchase practical things like work clothes and shoes. I found these great Steve Madden ballet flats at the Saint Vincent De Paul-West (aka swanky thrift store) for a mere $3.00…

IMG_0392

and these sexy beasts at the Goodwill.

IMG_0390

Hey guys, I'm single!

Of course, there are also a few duds…

IMG_0389

Does anyone hear circus music?

Last Saturday was one of my proudest shopping ventures yet even though CE did most of the digging for me. Over the past couple months, I’ve managed to kick over and break every water-glass in my apartment (I blame the show Glee).  

Here they are…

IMG_0393

And the best one of all…

IMG_0394

Sweet "A" glass

About Restless Cube Dweller

Most of my adult life has been defined finding homes in unconventional places, and learning to interact positively with others. I've lived in the middle of nowhere, in small cities, in large cities, in the suburbs, and now in Dubuque, Iowa. This blog represents my musings about growing up, moving on, finding love, and eating well in the suburbs and beyond.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sweet, sweet thrifting

  1. flatonmyface says:

    Hey! I love that vera wang…we just need to give her a little updating and waist nipping.

  2. Mary says:

    Love those Steve Madden ballet flats – great find!

Leave a Reply

