I am thankful

that Thanksgiving is friggin’ over!

Here are the highlights from the long weekend:

My mother said “Those people have issues” 85 times.

I watched “Elf” 3 times.

Housecat + Laser Pointer = Endless Entertainment

19-year-old brother + new fiance + my mom = caged  Thanksgiving deathmatch

Created a new Sim family consisting of myself and a guy named “Manmeat”.  My Sim works on her career while Manmeat washes the dishes and works on his abs. My Sim is cool with this.

My mother and I didn’t go shopping on Black Friday, but we did hit three bars and one “adult” store. When my mother couldn’t find her ID to get into the store she kept saying (loudly), “I’m her mom. I’m her mom. I think I’m old enough to be in here!” This was  a tad awkward. 

While sitting at the The Miles Inn in Sioux City, I belted out lyrics to “The Gambler” when my mother sat next to a guy who looked like Kenny Rogers.

Ran into my childhood friend from Sergeant Bluff, Iowa. We were both big fans of my red wagon.

Discovered that The Miles Inn in Sioux City is pretty awesome. Anyplace that serves beer in goblets is fine by me. Check out a review on Roadfood!

Shared a slice of cheesecake and coffee with my youngest brother while talking books at Barnes & Noble (best part of my week).

Smooth talked my way out of a ticket on Highway 20. Thank you, thank you, thank you for not giving me a ticket, officer!

Returned home, put up my tree, and slipped into a coma.

About Restless Cube Dweller

Most of my adult life has been defined finding homes in unconventional places, and learning to interact positively with others. I've lived in the middle of nowhere, in small cities, in large cities, in the suburbs, and now in Dubuque, Iowa. This blog represents my musings about growing up, moving on, finding love, and eating well in the suburbs and beyond.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

