The Panic Room

I usually put a positive spin on Dubuque living, but I’ll admit I did not enjoy living here immediately. During my first six months in Dubuque after either a long day at work or a late night out on the town I often found myself lying on my walk-in closet floor sobbing uncontrollably while spooning my laundry basket. 

I know it sounds pretty pathetic.

Needless to say, living alone and being in an unfamiliar place rattled me much more than I anticipated. I figured that since I grew up in Iowa, moving to another Iowa town would be no problem. But, what I found is that alone is alone whether you live in San Francisco, New York City, or Dubuque.

What turned the whole thing around for me was when I became more involved with the Dubuque community. When I volunteered for different organizations, I felt that I was affecting positive change and I started meeting people, fantastic positive people. These people became key to my Dubuque social survival.

I also began to try other new things. For an introvert such as myself it was a little intimidating at first, but I quickly found that there is no shame in trying something new even if you have no idea what you’re doing. For example, I played on a sand volleyball team even though I am a horrible volleyball player. I could at least entertain my teammates by falling creatively and making sand angels.

I’ll sob if I must, but I’ll keep an open mind and stay curious. I’ve been surprised at what I’ve found within this town and within myself over the past three years. 

So, today I celebrate three years as a Euchre-playing, 5K running, summer festival going, bike-riding, Fourth Street elevator riding, eagle watching, winter running, Asian Gourmet loving Dubuquer!

Thank you, friends and family for all of your support!

My Favorite Spot

About Restless Cube Dweller

Most of my adult life has been defined finding homes in unconventional places, and learning to interact positively with others. I've lived in the middle of nowhere, in small cities, in large cities, in the suburbs, and now in Dubuque, Iowa. This blog represents my musings about growing up, moving on, finding love, and eating well in the suburbs and beyond.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Panic Room

  1. Sarah says:

    Congratulations on your 3-year anniversary! Having experienced the same thing (living in a new place and alone in Chicago), I know that it truly sucks at first. Good for you for getting involved and finding the positive things in life!

  2. flatonmyface says:

    so glad you don’t have to cry in the closet anymore and so glad we met 🙂

Leave a Reply

