Books to Read Before I Die Challenge-2010

I was recently informed of an intriguing before I die reading challenge at a blogsite called Bibliophile By the Sea. All I have to say is GAME ON!  This is the perfect motivation for me since I have been struggling with my reading lists lately. I must emphasize that my BID list is massive, so this list is just the tip of the iceburg. 

Here are the rules (FROM BIBLIOPHILE BY THE SEA):

  1. Between now and December 31, 2009, make a list of between 10 and 20 Books to Read Before You Die. (depending on interest, this may be an annual event challenge).
  2. The books on your list can come from your stacks or the library, and be in print or audio format.
  3. Once you’ve created your post with tentative titles, THEN sign up using Mr. Linky, by pasting the link to your post, along with your name/blog name. This is how you will be registered. Finalize your list by 12/31/09 (no changes to the list after 12/31/09).
  4.  NOTE: If you don’t have a blog, you can still sign up and join in the fun.
  5. All bloggers who complete the challenge will be entered in giveaway to win an Amazon Gift Card.
  6.  Questions/comments, please feel free to comment or email me.

You can sign up anytime prior to January 1, 2010, once you’ve created your “tentative list”.

Here’s my tentative 2010 list (in no particular order and suggestions are welcome)!

1. White is for Witching – Helen Oyeyemi (CW highly recommended this one)

2. Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen (This book has been sitting in my bookshelf for most of my adult life. 2010 will be the year I read it.)

3. Hard Times: An Oral History of the Great Depression – Studs Terkel (I borrowed this one from my economist friend about a year ago. I’m guessing she wants it back.)

4. The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn – Mark Twain (I’m not sure how I escaped middle school without reading this one.)

5. The Blind Assassin – Margaret Atwood (A favorite book of one of my Denver Publishing Institute friends. My other DPI friend loathes it. I must enter the conversation) 

6. The Art of Mexican Cooking – Diana Kennedy (Yes, I read cookbooks. After hearing an interview with Kennedy on “The Splendid Table”, I can’t wait to read her cookbook!)

7. Midnight’s Children – Salman Rushdie (Again, I’ve been putting off this one off for years)

8. Great Expectations – Charles Dickens (Ditto)

9. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone – J.K. Rowling (This one has been on my list since I was schooled by the English Department Chair’s children a few years ago. Afterwards, they asked me “Are you really smart enough to finish your master’s degree?” Thanks, boys. I’ll read this, but I will never be able to answer your math story problem flashcards. NEVER.)

10. Ulysses – James Joyce (I won’t lie. I’m still intimidated by Joyce. I’ve read parts of this, but never all the way through)

11. Let the Great World Spin – Colum McCann (Amazon e-mails me this book as suggested reading CONSTANTLY.)

12. My Last Supper: 50 Great Chefs and Their Final Meals – Melanie Dunea (Features an almost-naked Anthony Bourdain. This makes it a must read for me)

 13. War Dances – Sherman Alexie (He can be a little preachy, but I still love his writing)

14. Lights on a Ground of Darkness – Ted Kooser (Kooser’s work appeals to my midwestern-growing-up-in-a-shack-in-the-middle-of-nowhere-on-the-prairie roots. I read everything he writes)

About Restless Cube Dweller

Most of my adult life has been defined finding homes in unconventional places, and learning to interact positively with others. I've lived in the middle of nowhere, in small cities, in large cities, in the suburbs, and now in Dubuque, Iowa. This blog represents my musings about growing up, moving on, finding love, and eating well in the suburbs and beyond.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Books to Read Before I Die Challenge-2010

  1. Bustie McGoo says:

    Love it! My sister would cry if she found out you’ve never read Pride and Prejudice (but then, many would cry knowing I’ve never read Catcher in the Rye nor Great Gatsby, whateves) So glad to see you’re going to try out the Blind Assasin (can you read sarcasm through a computer screen?) And, January’s book club book: Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet….but since book club meets on Sunday, it’s probably too late anyway!

    • Restless Cube Dweller says:

      I feel bad about never reading Pride and Prejudice. It is long overdue! I’ll be traveling on Sunday anyway. I missed Christmas with my mom and brothers (damn snowstorm), so I’m spending the New Year’s weekend with them. I’m definitely game for the next one though!

  2. flatonmyface says:

    Hard Times..I was wondering where that went. We were dicussing it on the long trek home from Christmas visting and I couldn’t figure out where it was when I got home 🙂 Perfect timing and great list!

  3. hillsgirl says:

    Rowling neglects technique in her later Potter books; I’m always delighted when I revisit the first two or three books (but especially the first one).

    (Are you home yet?)

  4. Leigh says:

    I’m so excited that Blind Assassin made your list! I’m totally going to take you up on having a conversation about it. In fact, let me know when you read it so I can re-read it, and have intelligent things to say. (Yes, I’m a huge dork.)

Leave a Reply

