a restaurant gone

I was recently informed that the restaurant where I first worked closed. I am sad about the loss of a great locally owned BBQ restaurant.

Barely sixteen, I started at Aggie’s as a waitress and worked almost every position available from dishwasher to bartender. Of all the jobs, I loved being a prep-cook. Alone in the back I would spend most of the day peeling potatoes while swaying back and forth to the oldies. I can still feel the sting of vinegar in my nostrils while I mixed the ingredients for the signature BBQ sauce and the lush scent of brisket cooking on the smoker. Even as a teenager, I knew I was in my ideal foodie element.

Of course, my first job provided me with some less than desirable experiences as well. I mastered how to date the wrong men (mostly bartenders with nice cars and bad attitudes), how to smoke, and how to hold my liquor with the people I met at that restaurant. In other words, I learned a lot about what not to do at a young age. By the way, I no longer smoke or drink (too much), but I’m still working on the dating thing.

Cathy, the owner, is who I remember the most. Always looking out for me, she  insisted that I call home before I left work and she made sure I had a good meal.  More importantly she offered me counsel when no one else was providing it to me. She always told me, “You are young and the world is vast, and you’ll find a place in it.”

I have.

Thanks, Cathy.

Here is a little tribute to Aggies from Roadfood.com.

About Restless Cube Dweller

Most of my adult life has been defined finding homes in unconventional places, and learning to interact positively with others. I've lived in the middle of nowhere, in small cities, in large cities, in the suburbs, and now in Dubuque, Iowa. This blog represents my musings about growing up, moving on, finding love, and eating well in the suburbs and beyond.
This entry was posted in Humorous Anecdotes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

