Satan’s Orchestra

Am I growing out of living in an apartment complex?

The answer is “yes”.

I love my apartment for all of its old quirks; the porcelain sinks, the wood floors, and the view of the Mississippi River. However, my neighbors have a bit to be desired.

Here’s a map of my sleep pattern last night:

9:30 pm went to bed because I’m lame.

9:45 pm-2:30 am slept soundly

2:30 am-awakened by downstairs neighbors playing music and talking

3:30 am-still awake, now listening to thumping and groaning.

3:35 am-now wide awake due to high-pitched fake-sounding scream (way to go).

3:35-4:15 am-thrashing about trying to get back to my comfortable spot.

4:15 am-other neighbor’s smoke detector goes off.

4:17 am-after listening to loud beeping for two minutes, I decide to venture into the hallway to make sure there is not a fire.

4:18 am-no fire to be found; no neighbors to be found either. Beeping continues.

4:20 am-turn on fan. hide head under pillow.

5:00 am-Car alarm starts blaring in the parking lot adjacent to my bedroom. Awesome.

8:00 am-Step into the hallway to breathe in the faint aroma of weed. Apparently, I’m living next to some wake and bakers.

8:30 am-Arrive at work and start looking for a new home.

About Restless Cube Dweller

Most of my adult life has been defined finding homes in unconventional places, and learning to interact positively with others. I've lived in the middle of nowhere, in small cities, in large cities, in the suburbs, and now in Dubuque, Iowa. This blog represents my musings about growing up, moving on, finding love, and eating well in the suburbs and beyond.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Satan’s Orchestra

  1. Grace says:

    Sounds like you miss your old downstairs neighbor?!

    • Restless Cube Dweller says:

      Do I ever! Are you still living on Bluff street? I’m sorry I haven’t seen you in a while! We’ll have to get together soon : )

Leave a Reply

