weekend glimpses; weekend ghosts

This weekend I made the familiar trek from Dubuque to Sioux City.

It didn’t start out well. When I left Dubuque it was warm and sunny, balmy if you will. Unfortunately, when I crossed the north-central part of Iowa near Fort Dodge the weather turned snowy and cold and to make matters worse I became stuck in traffic.

Well, sort of…

Rural Iowa traffic

I arrived at the family acreage five hours later, shaken, and stiff from the long ride. Luckily, a remedy would soon be in my hands.

"Schooner" of beer at the Miles Inn. That is not my hand, but it is my beer.

By Saturday, my nerves had calmed and I enjoyed a visit from my country cousins…

A little bit country

He soon tangled himself and crashed to the floor. I think the image looks ghostly.

On Saturday evening I crouched over my grandma’s old cedar chest to go through some mementos with my mom. During this time, my mom continually reminded me that she only had one-third of her life left. Comforting her about this was unsuccessful as it somehow turned to where my soul is headed. Of course, I was then bamboozled into attending church with the family on Sunday.

I think this may have been her plan all along. However, the church experience did provide some entertainment.

I was in charge of picking up my brother from his religious education classes. Right after the “Our Father” was recited over the loudspeakers, a bell rang and the first kid bolted out of a classroom hollering “I’M FREE!” As he ran down the hall I almost high-fived him, but changed my mind when I saw the look on the parents’ faces around me.

Then, on our drive home from church, a Suburban cut me off only to sit idle at a green arrow. Without thinking about my passengers, I honked and yelled, “That’s a green arrow, mutha fucka!” My twelve-year old brother laughed hysterically in the backseat while my mom turned to me,

“Too bad there’s not reconciliation today because I’d have you turn this car right back around to church with that filthy mouth of yours.”

Sorry, Mom. I swear I only use that language when I drive and I’m alone. It’s become an unhealthy reflex.

Anyway, the weekend went too fast for all of us, but it did not go fast enough for the family cat, Midnight. I woke up to her perched over me on Saturday and Sunday morning. Apparently I was sleeping in a highly coveted spot…the couch.

Would this make you nervous?

Get off my couch, bitch.

 Being unplugged from television, internet, and all things digital was exactly what I needed this weekend. 

I am most definitely happy to be back, though.

To another week!

About Restless Cube Dweller

Most of my adult life has been defined finding homes in unconventional places, and learning to interact positively with others. I've lived in the middle of nowhere, in small cities, in large cities, in the suburbs, and now in Dubuque, Iowa. This blog represents my musings about growing up, moving on, finding love, and eating well in the suburbs and beyond.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

