Green(er)

Ah, spring in Dubuque. I love it!

Early this morning the sun crawled over the river bluffs and the birds began calling out from the park next to my apartment windows. Meanwhile, I lay in a near comatose state pushing my snooze button for an hour-and-a-half in a knot of sheets (I’m a thrasher).

Then my new and old conscious began to argue about my biking to work.

Old Me: It’s so much easier to throw yourself into the car and go. You are sooo going to be late today if you bike.

New Me: You promised you would stop making a excuses!

Old Me: Don’t let that condescending new chick make you feel bad. It’s just one day of taking the car.

New Me: Don’t listen to her! She’s a bum! Get on Old Blue and ride.

I did ride to work today. Though I arrived looking a tad homeless and sweaty, it was completely worth it.

P.S. Dubuque Bike to Work Week is in May!  Sign up and get the word out!

My birthday is also in May; however, you don’t have to sign up to hang out with me on the fifteenth.

Anyway, my effort to be green has had some pleasing side effects. I’ve lost most of my fall/winter poundage because I’ve been walking and biking more than using my car.

Reducing my meat intake to once or twice a week has also contributed to the weight loss.

Vinegar and Borax has replaced most of my cleaning products. I’ve been particularly surprised at how well a simple solution of water and vinegar has kept the mildew at bay in my bathroom. It smells like hell for about five minutes, but it works!

I’ve also been experimenting with all-natural skin products. I have sensitive skin, so this has been difficult for me, but I’ve found a couple of products I really like. Tom’s Long-Lasting Care Deodorant works really well (I smell like a peach…literally) and I’ve become addicted to Pangea Organics soaps (you can plant the packaging). I do realize that since these have to be shipped, they’re probably not the best “green” options, so I’m going to keep searching.

This complete reprogramming of my habits is definitely a journey. The more I analyze, the more I realize how heavy my environmental footprint has been over the past 27 years. It’s never too late to change and I can’t wait to see what else I’ll discover!

About Restless Cube Dweller

Most of my adult life has been defined finding homes in unconventional places, and learning to interact positively with others. I've lived in the middle of nowhere, in small cities, in large cities, in the suburbs, and now in Dubuque, Iowa. This blog represents my musings about growing up, moving on, finding love, and eating well in the suburbs and beyond.
This entry was posted in Fun in Dubuque, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Green(er)

  1. flatonmyface says:

    team, you can add your fave essential oil (mint, rosemary, lavendar, etc) to the vinegar and water for your shower spray. It should take some of the edge off. I just got a book called green clean (http://melcher.com/book.php?id=93). It goes room by room in your house and explains what is best and why. check it.

    • Restless Cube Dweller says:

      Thanks for the book recommendation! That’s exactly what I’ve been looking for! Sorry I missed your partay last Friday. I was at another shindig with the Winch couple.

      …who’s David?

Leave a Reply

