2010

2010 started out a little rocky for me.

Let’s just say that January was full of poor choices and a bit of regression.

I started eating poorly too.

February felt like white noise with the BS of Valentine’s Day smacked in the middle. I did have some time to snap some pretty photos at Mines of Spain though.

Cold, quiet solitude

March showed more signs of life and positivity. I sang karoake in Platteville, Wisconsin and made a trip to Lawton, Iowa for my youngest brother’s birthday. I also said goodbye to RB, who now annoys me with his messages laden with Australian slang. YOU’RE FROM WISCONSIN, DUDE!

A goodbye to my first friend in Dubuque

Also, I can’t leave out the CE, Team Double-M, and Team Z roadtrip to Lee County Iowa for the great William Elliott Whitmore concert.

CE waiting with anticipation

April, one of my favorite months, was full of changes for the better. I began making strides to live a more green, sustainable lifestyle by riding my bike, using green/homeade cleaning products, and being more careful about the food I was eating. I also took some of my poor choices from earlier in the year and kicked them to the curb.

Going Green

May was an incredibly busy month.

I went home to make peace with a few demons…

My abondoned childhood home

Western Iowa pastures

 I fixed up my apartment…

An attempt at renovation, which actually sealed the loss of my deposit.

I met a dude and invited him to my birthday party. He turned out to be pretty cool.

Happy birthday to me.

 I travelled to Denver for work.

What traveling for work really feels like.

What the hell happened in June? I have zero recollection of June and I have no photos. Weird, huh? I think I was exhausted from May and I was spending a lot of time with NM.

July brought a Fourth of July celebration with NM’s family and our first trip to Chicago. We had a blast walking around the city and we discovered The Purple Pig. I had never been to Chicago during the summer, so I made sure to enjoy the warmth. NM had a blister the size of a fist by the end of the trip.

There was a trip to Chicago

In August, I lost the memory card for my camera, so I have no photos. There was a visit from my family and lots of trips to the Dubuque farmer’s market. CW visited and it was awesome. We had a spa day and ate cheese curds.

Oh, and it was hot as hell. That’s about it.

In September, NM and I discovered the greatness of Monk’s on Bluff Street in Dubuque. The beer selection is wonderful and the atmosphere is best described as hippie chic.

Monk's Kaffee Pub

October brought changes. NM took a new job and so did I. As a result, we both prepared to move to Chicago. Along with the interviews, moving preparations, and saying our goodbyes to the people and places we loved in Dubuque, we managed to attend a beautiful autumn wedding.

Wedding Numero 2 (Audrey) for the Denver Ladies

He'll dance, but only if you beg.

Late October/early November was chaos, but we settled in quickly. NM’s sister and brother-in-law visited for a crazy Halloween in Wrigleyville (NM drove on a sidewalk) and we began to explore our new suburban surroundings.

The new digs...

Then, in November, there was an epic lasagna-off for Thanksgiving.

I win.

December has been a busy month as well, but there have been some peaceful moments. Moving is always a jarring experience; however, moving has been surprisingly centering as well. My mind feels clearer and stronger as it adjusts to new surroundings and a new routine.  It is truly an enlightening, happy time even though I miss the people of Dubuque.

And, when the fire is going and the tree is lit, I feel incredibly lucky.

Coziness

  Here’s hoping that 2011 brings more good things!

About Restless Cube Dweller

Most of my adult life has been defined finding homes in unconventional places, and learning to interact positively with others. I've lived in the middle of nowhere, in small cities, in large cities, in the suburbs, and now in Dubuque, Iowa. This blog represents my musings about growing up, moving on, finding love, and eating well in the suburbs and beyond.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

