Planning the garden and other news flashes…

Now that it is early March, I am finally starting to feel my mind and body awaking from the winter slumber (FU February!).

To prove that fact, last Saturday I raced to the Downers Grove Park District office at 8:30 am to purchase my 20 foot by 30 foot garden plot. Visions of fresh tomatoes, cucumbers, sweet corn, squash, and lettuces were racing through my mind when my thoughts were interrupted by a “master gardener” ahead of me in line. I overheard him talking about all of the preparation and planning he was doing for his plot. Suddenly, I began to feel that my vegetable planting ineptitude might be a hindrance.

I have planted herbs and I have a houseplant named George (I’ve also adopted a houseplant named Scotty), but I have never had a full on garden of veg.

So, where do I start? I have ordered a seed catalog…that’s it. Please send me any tips you might have!

Can't wait to put my hands in the dirt!

In other news…my hair is growing long again, I’m looking for a new car, and we’ve found a wonderful place to eat in the ‘burbs!

What?!

Amidst all the chains and a few disappointing holes in the wall (Hello, food poisoning! I’m referring to YOU, Wong), I was beginning to feel defeated just before we stumbled upon the Lemon Tree Grocer, a nice little inexpensive foodie place with a sweet, sweet selection of cheese, beer, and wine. I am now officially addicted to their truffled mac and cheese. It’s heavy on the truffle and light on cheese.

This place could easily be my new mothership.

About Restless Cube Dweller

Most of my adult life has been defined finding homes in unconventional places, and learning to interact positively with others. I've lived in the middle of nowhere, in small cities, in large cities, in the suburbs, and now in Dubuque, Iowa. This blog represents my musings about growing up, moving on, finding love, and eating well in the suburbs and beyond.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Planning the garden and other news flashes…

  1. Nick says:

    HEY!

    Scotty doesn’t need to be adopted. He wasn’t even put up for adoption. He is going to be UPSET!!!

Leave a Reply

