A War Agains Trash Mail: Chicago Tribune’s Local Values flyers

Prepare for a rant, folks!

Twice a week I open our apartment mailbox to find a giant mass of fast food coupons,  grocer deals, and medic alert bracelet ads. As this wad of mail waste bursts out of the stuffed mailbox and falls to the floor, I curse the Chicago Tribune and its Local Values flyers.

I have left numerous voice mails and e-mails asking the Chicago Tribune to unsubscribe us from their Local Values mailing list since November.

We are still receiving their mailings twice a week.

Local Values, you haven’t defeated me yet. You will be hearing from me every time I receive your mailings, I will be calling you and I will continue e-mailing you and I will not rest until you stop sending me your coupons!

I understand that there are still some who rely on paper coupons and that is fine, but if I choose not to receive these coupons, I should have that right.

If anyone else wishes to be removed from their list, the e-mail is triblocalvalues@tribune.com

and the phone number is 800-998-2339

There is no guarantee that they will take anyone off the list though.

About Restless Cube Dweller

Most of my adult life has been defined finding homes in unconventional places, and learning to interact positively with others. I've lived in the middle of nowhere, in small cities, in large cities, in the suburbs, and now in Dubuque, Iowa. This blog represents my musings about growing up, moving on, finding love, and eating well in the suburbs and beyond.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A War Agains Trash Mail: Chicago Tribune’s Local Values flyers

  1. Shirlee says:

    I was told to email AskClientServices@Tribune.com. Just did it, and hope it works!

    • Restless Cube Dweller says:

      I hope so too! The flyers finally stopped arriving a couple weeks after I wrote this post.

    • Heron says:

      Thanks so much for posting that e-mail address! It still works. I sent a message on Thursday, received a reply on Friday, and didn’t receive a copy of Local Values on Saturday.

  2. Desperate Housewife says:

    I just did a google search looking for help and your post was one of the results — I’ve left almost a dozen messages over the last year and they still haven’t stopped the mailings! They clutter the entryway of our building with twice/week papers packets of stuff that not one person reads or picks up. It is like guerrilla direct mail. Making me cray-zee!!

  3. rosswolman says:

    Thank you for the great post! This is the reply I got (same day)

    Hello,

    We will remove both addresses from the Local Values delivery.

    Thanks,
    Cathea Sims
    askclientservices@tribune.com

Leave a Reply

