Another year older, another year wiser…

Yesterday was my 29th birthday. It was low-key with homemade dinner and drinks on Saturday night and a lovely brunch at The Publican as well as the best cupcakes ever at Molly’s Cupcakes on Sunday morning.

McFad did wonderful work on researching the places. And, he even indulged me when I insisted on taking the El instead of a cab (this meant walking through torrents of cold rain and wind). Go Public Transport!

That's the "Cookie Monster" cupcake at Molly's in Lincoln Park. It has a cookie dough core. Oh, and I'm on a swing.

Am I wiser at 29 than I was at 21? I certainly hope so! I think I’m getting better about spending time with people who are positive and upbeat versus the melancholic brooding people I used to befriend (and date). Thankfully, I no longer mistake blatant cynicism for intellectualism.

Though, don’t get me wrong, I always appreciate a good sarcastic zinger.

About Restless Cube Dweller

Most of my adult life has been defined finding homes in unconventional places, and learning to interact positively with others. I've lived in the middle of nowhere, in small cities, in large cities, in the suburbs, and now in Dubuque, Iowa. This blog represents my musings about growing up, moving on, finding love, and eating well in the suburbs and beyond.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

