I don’t…

understand.

Sitting at a wedding reception at a typical white cloaked round table during the wedding reception of my DPI friend, I said something that really didn’t appeal to my audience…

The ladies were talking about the different rituals they did and did not have at their weddings when one of them said,

I always thought it was weird that people eat after the wedding.

To which I replied,

But, aren’t all wedding rituals weird when you really think about them?

With that remark, I silenced the table for a moment and all the married couples avoided eye contact with me.

I shut up and went back to poking at my dinner.

McFad mumbled, I was hoping you weren’t going to go any further with that. This is the wrong crowd…

Some might say that I’m free spirited, some might say I’m stubborn, but mostly I’m just a little skeptical about anything that is considered a social norm. Just ask my mother, who is still trying to persuade me to be a good Catholic. To her horror, I was once a first grader who declared that Santa, the Easter Bunny, and Jesus were frauds. It’s been a battle ever since.

I digress.

Don’t get me wrong, I think marriage can be a beautiful thing. I’m cool with the idea of two people committing to each other for a lifetime in front of the people they love. What I have a difficult time understanding is why there is so much importance placed on things like the ring, the dress, the cake, the fluffy decorations, the gifts, and the massive guest lists.

I think I would be perfectly happy in a dress from the thrift store, delicious food, a cake I made myself, some homegrown music, and a small group of the people we love.

 




About Restless Cube Dweller

Most of my adult life has been defined finding homes in unconventional places, and learning to interact positively with others. I've lived in the middle of nowhere, in small cities, in large cities, in the suburbs, and now in Dubuque, Iowa. This blog represents my musings about growing up, moving on, finding love, and eating well in the suburbs and beyond.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I don’t…

  1. flatonmyface says:

    I’m glad you call all of the rituals silly. go team. I completely agree, but I do hope that some delicious beer is on the docket to go with your homemade cake- if not, your call – it’s your wedding 🙂

    • Restless Cube Dweller says:

      Thanks, Team. You helped me with this one!

      And, there’s no real wedding. It’s all hypothetical for now.

      • flatonmyface says:

        I know it’s hypothetical, but I couldn’t think of that word. All I could think of was imaginary and that just didn’t sound right. Also, I was referring to our wedding. Thanks for dumping me on the blogosphere.

  2. Restless Cube Dweller says:

    Well, shit. Sorry about that!

Leave a Reply

