Remember this reading list?

Today, all of a sudden, I remembered that I had once created a reading list for 2010 and I began to wonder how many of the books on said list I’d actually read. I’ll definitely revise this for 2012.

1. White is for Witching – Helen Oyeyemi (CW highly recommended this one)-

Note from 2011 me: I’m sorry CW.

2. Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen (This book has been sitting in my bookshelf for most of my adult life. 2010 will be the year I read it.)

Note from 2011 me: Jane Austin is BOOOOOOOORING. I would’ve been happier if the heroines ditched the guys all together and started their own radical ladies-only commune.

3. Hard Times: An Oral History of the Great Depression – Studs Terkel (I borrowed this one from my economist friend about a year ago. I’m guessing she wants it back.)

Note from 2011 me: I finished this one, but I also I spilled soup all over it. CE never got her book back. However, I did buy her a new copy because I’m not an animal.

4. The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn – Mark Twain (I’m not sure how I escaped middle school without reading this one.)

Note from 2011 me: Well, shit. Didn’t read it.

5. The Blind Assassin – Margaret Atwood (A favorite book of one of my Denver Publishing Institute friends. My other DPI friend loathes it. I must enter the conversation) 

Note from 2011 me: What the f&$@ is wrong with this novel? I made it through the first few chapters and I just couldn’t engage with it.

6. The Art of Mexican Cooking – Diana Kennedy (Yes, I read cookbooks. After hearing an interview with Kennedy on “The Splendid Table”, I can’t wait to read her cookbook!)

Note from 2011 me: Thanks to McFad’s grandpa, I now own this book. The recipes are complicated as hell and look delicious. I have yet to make anything from it, mostly because I don’t have a lot of ham hocks and corn husks sitting around.

7. Midnight’s Children – Salman Rushdie (Again, I’ve been putting off this one off for years)

Note from 2011 me: Still putting this one off.

8. Great Expectations – Charles Dickens (Ditto)

Note from 2011 me: Still ditto.

9. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone – J.K. Rowling (This one has been on my list since I was schooled by the English Department Chair’s children a few years ago. Afterwards, they asked me “Are you really smart enough to finish your master’s degree?” Thanks, boys. I’ll read this, but I will never be able to answer your math story problem flashcards. NEVER.)

Note from 2011 me: I’m pretty proud of this one! I’ve read the whole series and seen the entire movie series (last two in IMAX-3D…woot woot!).

10. Ulysses – James Joyce (I won’t lie. I’m still intimidated by Joyce. I’ve read parts of this, but never all the way through)

Note from 2011 me: Made it to page 3 and yelled, “What do you have to prove, Joyce?!”

11. Let the Great World Spin – Colum McCann (Amazon e-mails me this book as suggested reading CONSTANTLY.)

Note from 2011 me: Amazon no longer recommends this; therefore, I refuse to read it.

12. My Last Supper: 50 Great Chefs and Their Final Meals – Melanie Dunea (Features an almost-naked Anthony Bourdain. This makes it a must read for me)

Note from 2011 me: Hell. Yes. I read this and loved the photos.

 13. War Dances – Sherman Alexie (He can be a little preachy, but I still love his writing)

Note from 2011 me: Sorry, Shermie, I haven’t read you yet.

14. Lights on a Ground of Darkness – Ted Kooser (Kooser’s work appeals to my midwestern-growing-up-in-a-shack-in-the-middle-of-nowhere-on-the-prairie roots. I read everything he writes)

Note from 2011 me: Absolutely beautiful!

About Restless Cube Dweller

Most of my adult life has been defined finding homes in unconventional places, and learning to interact positively with others. I've lived in the middle of nowhere, in small cities, in large cities, in the suburbs, and now in Dubuque, Iowa. This blog represents my musings about growing up, moving on, finding love, and eating well in the suburbs and beyond.
This entry was posted in Literature. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Remember this reading list?

  1. flatonmyface says:

    I can actually picture you throwing down Ulysses and yelling in a guttural voice. Kind of like the one Chris Farley uses when he says ” lay off me I’m starving”.

    • Restless Cube Dweller says:

      That’s exactly what it sounded like. I always aspire to be one of those scholars who worships Joyce. Then I try to read his work and I get so incredibly angry!

Leave a Reply

