2012 Hopes

The first real snow has arrived in D’s G (that’s my suburb speak for Downers Grove) and I was busily working from home today when I realized that I have not written my ritual “Good-bye last year. Hello this year” post. 2011 was year a year full of joy, new challenges, and some family conflict. Here is want I want to do better in 2012:

I hope…

to savor the events of 2012 rather than just marking them off like another item on my task list.

to work on being a better friend. I’ve been so wrapped up in work and adjusting to my new surroundings that I’m not maintaining my friendships well.  

to make some serious career decisions. My fifth-year anniversary of corporate servitude was celebrated in December and that milestone is weighing heavily on my mind. I began working where I do because I wanted to do something that was related to what I loved…writing, literature, and education. What I quickly found was that while my position might seem related at first glance, most of my daily duties have more to do with project management and taking care of budgets and invoices. The eighteen year-old version of myself is screaming, “How the f*&% did this happen?”

to work toward being greener and healthier. These two things have fallen by the wayside since we moved to the ‘burbs.

to plan and more importantly celebrate a meaningful, beautiful, and fun wedding. We’re well on our way with that one…

Now, I just need to execute on these items! Cheers to 2012!

About Restless Cube Dweller

Most of my adult life has been defined finding homes in unconventional places, and learning to interact positively with others. I've lived in the middle of nowhere, in small cities, in large cities, in the suburbs, and now in Dubuque, Iowa. This blog represents my musings about growing up, moving on, finding love, and eating well in the suburbs and beyond.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2012 Hopes

  1. hillsgirl says:

    Love these resolutions and love you.

Leave a Reply

