Returning

November marked my third year in Chicagoland and it was also the month Nick received word that he would be returning to Dubuque. His stint as an outside sales rep is officially over and we are going “home” very soon.

It’s an odd thing, that word home.

A sense of home was something I felt when I was a very young child, but the sporadic violence and instability of my adolescent and teenage years made it difficult for me to ever be truly at home in rural northwest Iowa. Then, there are these other places I’ve dwelled like Vermillion, South Dakota (undergrad, grad school, booze), Des Moines (transition period, living in my dad’s basement, allergy attacks from living with seven cats), and the Chicago ‘Burbs (my shacking up/married life with Nick and my life in constant traffic).

However, as Nick and I drove back to Dubuque over the Christmas holiday, taking the same highway I drove seven years ago to a job interview, I felt an overwhelming sense of home. I am returning to friends, to family, and to a true community. I will miss some of my Chicago life, but it doesn’t compare to my excitement upon retuning to Dubuque.

Image

Our cottage in the Chicago suburbs. The spare bedroom contains what we affectionately refer to as “the jail bathroom”.

See you in a couple weeks, Dubuque!

About Restless Cube Dweller

Most of my adult life has been defined finding homes in unconventional places, and learning to interact positively with others. I've lived in the middle of nowhere, in small cities, in large cities, in the suburbs, and now in Dubuque, Iowa. This blog represents my musings about growing up, moving on, finding love, and eating well in the suburbs and beyond.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

